Of This, That and The Other


Leap Of Faith v/s The Scientific Bent Of Mind
April 23, 2011, 8:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Just returned from a week on the road – quite literally.

Hyderabad – Delhi – Dharmsala – Mcleod Ganj – Delhi – Hyderabad.

Colleagues that wanted to show me a good time thought it’d be fun to go from Delhi to Mcleod Ganj. 10 hours  in a bus…not the giant Volvo types..but one of those that fits the mountain path.  Only good part about the trip being after about 8 hours, when the majestic snow tipped Dhauladhar ranges came into view.

This however was wrecked by the bus driver who sulked about having to drive his pet on those mountain roads. He rounded those 40 degree incline blinds, behaving as if he were at the controls of The Great Scream Machine, Six Flags, Atlanta.

I have a stomach with a strong lining and was good. Cant say as much about some colleagues.

The highlight of the trip was the OPPORTUNITY to paraglide.

I am generally of a scientific bent of mind and had the thing figured out in my head. All my life I wanted to do this…was really looking forward to it.

The thing about these looked forward to things is that when it comes to you on a silver plate, the scientific bent of mind begins to assay the silver!

And so it went..that I began to worry about the line that might snag on the rock, even as I ran tandem, to jump off the cliff, clutching my ropes. One thing led to another..and whatdoyouknow….the strong lining of my stomach gave way. I think it must have been that extra egg at breakfast earlier in the day.

And so I returned, tail b.m.legs. Promised myself that I have to get this fixed asap.

This is what I missed: a superb ariel view of the Dharamsala Cricket ground, an even better view of the snow clad Dhauladhar ranges and the opportunity to say, I did it.

This is what I am looking for: a take off point for paragliding where there are no rocks for the rope to snag on.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Dr. Ucok Siregar dia ahli bedah tulang. Coba kunjungi Rumah Sakit Carollus di Salemba. Dulu saya berobat dengan Dr. Ucok di sana. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Comment by luecolon59196




Leave a comment